Kabras Crowned Kings Of Kenya!

Kabras Sugar put in a dominant display of rugby, topping Resolution Impala Saracens 22-5 to grab a maiden and historic Kenya Cup title in the final played at the Impala Club on Saturday 7 May 2016.

The sugarmen eased into the match, settling under the wet, and muddy conditions at the venue, forcing the Sarries on to the backfoot and with that, drawing penalties from repeated infringements.

Fabian Olando, a Kenya Cup winner with KCB the previous season, opened the scoring with a successful goal attempt from a penalty, Kabras 3-0 after five minutes of play.

Edwin Achayo would then slice open the Sarries defence, selling a dummy and offloading to Brian Tanga who touched down for an 8-0 score after eight minutes.

The Sarries tried to get a stranglehold on the match but simply couldn’t and their chances were certainly not helped by George Okowa’s missed penalty.

Olando would drill home another penalty for an 11-0 score on thirty four minutes before Sam Onsomu touched down for the Sarries, the score board reading 11-5 at the breather.

The ageless Anthony Ogot would extend the sugarmen’s lead with an unconverted try four minutes after the restart before Olando added two penalties to secure the result and create history, the first time that Kenya’s premier club title has gone to the town of Kakamega, 380 kilometers west of Nairobi.

Facebook Comments
%d bloggers like this: