All To Play For As Kabras Faces KCB In 2019 Kenya Cup Final

The 2019 Kenya Cup Final takes place on Saturday 18th May at the Kakamega Showgrounds kicking off at exactly 3:45pm. Defending Champions and 2018/2019 Season leaders are serving us with a three peat final appearance for the third year running.

Curtis Olago has retained the full squad that beat the Kenya Harlequins last week in the semifinal while Kabras.

Henley Du Plesis, Kabras Head Coach has made three positional changes to the starting lineup that beat Stanbic Mwamba 23-11 in the semifinal played at the Kakamega Showgrounds last weekend. Charlton Mokua who started off the bench against Kulabu will link up with Hillary Odhiambo as the starting locks in the final. Kevin Keegan, Felix Ayange and Jonah Kubu make the sugar millars back three line up.

Brian Juma and Paul Abuto who were in the starting line-up last week have been benched in the final against KCB. Geoffrey Shitambasi makes a come back to the match day 23 as the reserve hooker of the day.

Kenya U20 Head Coach Paul Odera will be very proud to see his Barthes Cup 2019 scrumhalves Samuel Asati and Barry Robinson starting for their respective clubs in this encounter. Asati representing the Bankers while Barry dons the Kabras jersey.

Photos of both in action.

The two sides have met in three Kenya Cup finals with KCB winning all of three back in 2015, 2017 and 2018. KCB have been the dominant side each time these two meet with the most recent fixture being on 23rd February at the Impala Grounds when KCB beat Kabras 44-20.

The Bankers have however made only one trip to Kakamega since their promotion to the top tier league, the only fixture to end in a draw. This Saturday determines whether the Bankers are able to keep their unbeaten streak against Kabras or if the Sugar millers can finally get one over the defending Champions.

KCB Squad: Oscar Sorano, 2. Peter Karia, 3. Curtis Lilako © 4, Oliver Mang’eni, 5. Francis Mwita, 6. Andrew Amonde, 7. Peter Waitere, 8. Davis Chenge, 9. Samuel Asati, 10. Kennedy Moseti, 11. Jacob Ojee, 12. Brian Omondi, 13. Peter Kilonzo, 14. Tony Onyango, 15. Isaac Njoroge.

Reserves: 16. Griffin Musila, 17. Moses Amusala, 18. George Gichure, 19. Brian Nyikuli, 20. Rocky Aguko, 21. Michael Wanjala, 22, Shaban Ahmed, 23. Vincent Onyala.

Kabras Squad: 15. Jone Kubo 14. Felix Ayange 13. Mario Wilson 12. Nick Baraza 11. Kevin Keagan  10.Philip Wokorach 9. Barry Robinson 8. Claude Johannes 7. George Nyambua 6. Dan Sikuta  5. Hillary Odhiambo 4. Charlton Mokua 3. Asuman Mugerwa 2. Max Adaka (C) 1. Ephraim Odour

Reserves:  16. Geoffrey Shitambasi 17. Hillary Mwajilwa 18. Joseph Odero 19. Brian Juma 20. Kevin Kabole 21. Dan Angwech 22. Johnstone Mun’gau 23. Paul Abuto.

Facebook Comments
%d bloggers like this: