Menengai Oilers were crowned KRU Nationwide champions after beating Egerton Wasps 15- 8 in the final played at the Nakuru Athletic Club on Saturday 13 May 2017. 

Oilers were first on the scoreboard as an infringement by Egerton saw the Weru side maximise on a penalty and opt for three points. They would hold on to this score until the stroke of half time.

Minutes into the second half, the Egerton wasps would retaliate and level the scores up to 3-3. What followed was an exchange of tries as Oilers went first with a converted try giving the Oilers a 7 point lead. The wasps got their turn on the scoreboard as they dived over the whitewash. Conversion sailing wide saw the Oilers hold on to a two point lead as the scoreboard read 10-8.
In the dying minutes of the match, Menengai Oilers would calmly control of the ball movement, spreading it wide for the winger to extend the Oilers lead to 15-8.

Oilers held on to this lead until the referee blew the whistle to mark end of the final. In their first season, the Menengai Oilers get to walk away with the Nationwide trophy together with a promotion to the Championship League come next season.

Both sides will, by virtue of their two finishes, be promoted to the second tier KRU Championship for the 2017/18 season

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply