Kakamega Hosts Kabras-Stanbic Mwamba Semifinal Clash

Stanbic Mwamba have made the seven-hour journey to Kakamega to face the Kenya Cup League leaders Kabras Sugar RFC in the semifinal.

Kabras finished top of the log earning themselves a direct home semifinal while Stanbic Mwamba who finished fifth, had a playoff match on 27th April when they shut Nakuru out of the Kenya Cup semifinals beating them 18-17 at the Nakuru Athletics Club.

Billy Odhiambo makes a comeback to the starting squad after missing out in the playoffs while Eliakim Kichoi and Paul Wahome shall be getting into the semis off the bench. Mwamba who had a slow start into the season found their footing along the way, ensuring they finish in the top six teams and going a step further to reach the semifinals.

Stanbic Mwamba line up: Eugene Sudi, Salaton Muturi, Deus Mudaki, George Omolla, Steven Sikuta, Tony Owuor, Collins Injera, Edwin Machanje, Eugene Nzioka, Tony Omondi, Joel Inzuga, Michael Agevi, Billy Odhiambo,Alex Aturo, Daniel Taabu. Reserves: Brian Kahura, Jonah Mbari, James Yuko, Paul Wahome, Chris Asira, Martin Oyugi, Elvis Namusasi, Eliakim Kichoi

The hosts, since their inception into the Kenya Cup back in 2015, they have been in the five semifinals and made it to four finals winning one, 2016. Coach Henley Du Plesis has made three changes from the lineup that beat the Kenya Harlequins 54-11 last weekend during the Enterprise Cup final.

Kenya U20 Barry Robinson will be the starting scrumhalf on duty as Kabras take on Mwamba while his replacement Brian Tanga will come off the bench. Kevin Keegan who started at the left wing against his former team has been benched, this sees Felix Ayange move to the left wing and Paul Abuto taking up the right wing duties. Dan Ang’wech and Joseph Odero rejoin the squad and will be starting off the bench.

Kabras Sugar Starting line up: Ephraim Oduor, Max Adaka, Asuman Mugerwa, Brian Juma, Hillary Odhiambo, Dan Sikuta, George Nyambua, Claude Johannes, Barry Robinson, Phillip Wokorach, Felix Ayange, Nick Baraza, Mario Wilson, Paul Abuto, Jonah Kubu. Reserves: Eugene Sifuna, Hillary Mwanjilwa, Joseph Odero, Charlton Mokua, Kelvin Kabole, Dan Ang’wech, Johnstone Mung’au, Kevin Keegan.

The match kicks off at 4:00pm at the Kakamega Showgrounds with Constant Cap as the center referee, assisted by Beryl Akinyi and Nobert Bonyi.


Photo: Stanbic Mwamba

Facebook Comments
%d bloggers like this: