Kabras Sugar RFC and KCB RC have secured their slot in the Kenya Cup final for the fourth and third year respectively. Kabras won the title back in 2016 when they beat the Resolution Impala Saracens, they have since then finished second to KCB in 2017 and 2018.

At the Kakamega Showgrounds, Kabras Sugar dug deep to go through a stubborn Stanbic Mwamba RFC beating them 23-11. Kabras scored two tries and drilled in three penalties while Kulabu landed one try and scored three penalties.

At the Lion’s Den in Ruaraka, KCB outclassed Kenya Harlequins beating them 46-13 shutting them out of the Kenya Cup final. The hosts took an early 12-0 lead as Andrew Amonde and Isaac Njoroge went over the whitewash with Jacob Ojee adding one conversion before Quins got on the scoreboard with a penalty kick by Eric Shikuku. Kenya U20 Vice Captain Samuel Asati’s line break in the dying minutes of the first half was complemented by Andrew Amonde’s support that resulted in him landing his brace. Half time scores read 19-3.

An infringement by the Quins saw Ojee split the posts with an extra three points for the Bankers extending their lead to 22-3. In their first visit to the opponent’s half, the Kenya Harlequins landed a try through Peter Misango; Shikuku missing the conversion for a 22-8 score. KCB replied to the just conceded try with ten points off a converted try and one penalty, extending their lead to 32-8.

The very skillful Eden Agero sliced through the KCB defense in their five landing Quins’ second and final try in the match. The conversion that followed sailed wide. To put the icing on the cake, KCB added an extra two converted tries through Isaac Njoroge and Griffin Musila with Ojee adding the extras.

Kabras and KCB will meet in the final on the 18th of May at the Kakamega Showgrounds.

The ESS finalists are Menengai Cream Homeboyz and KCB RC who will be serving us a repeat of last year’s final. Homeboyz beat their hosts Kabras 13-10 at the Kakamega Showgrounds while KCB beat the Resolution Impala Saracens 32-19 at the KCB Sports Club Ruaraka.

Facebook Comments Box