Kenya Cup champions 1989-1999

In 1989, the Edward Rombo inspired Mean Machine ended a 12 year wait for the Kenya Cup, wresting the title from Nondescripts. The University of Nairobi side would defend the title in 1990, the last of their titles to date.

The two sides continued to enjoy a healthy rivalry, but it was Nondies who would lift the Kenya Cup in the years between 1991 and 1994.

Kenya Harlequin lifted the Kenya Cup for the first time in 1995. The team had benefitted from a spillover of talent  after Stanchart and Barclays Bank RFC had been disbanded in the mid 90s. This, coupled with more young talent from St. Mary’s , Lenana and Nairobi School saw Quins defend the title in 1996 before relinquishing it to Nondies who won in 1997 and 1998.

After years of determining the Kenya Cup champions through a round robin league competition, the then Kenya Rugby Football Union (latter day Kenya Rugby Union) introduced playoffs for the 1999 competition.

Four teams, Kenya Harlequin, Impala, Nondescripts and KCB made the semifinal playoffs before Quins defeated Impala to close out the 1990s as Kenya Cup champions.

Facebook Comments Box
News Reporter
%d bloggers like this: