Focus shifts to the Enterprise and Mwamba Cup competitions this weekend

League action takes a break this weekend, paving way for the round of 16 clashes in the top tier Enterprise Cup and the subsidiary Mwamba Cup competition.

Top Fry Nakuru are the first team through to the next round of the competition after 1997 winners Mombasa, whom they were drawn against, pulled out of the competition.

Defending champions Kabras Sugar get their Enterprise Cup title defense with a home fixture against Menengai Oilers at The Bull Ring in Kakamega.

Resolution Impala Saracens, losing finalists last year will be at home to KRU Championship side Mean Machine while KCB take on runaway KRU Championship leaders Strathmore Leos in Ruaraka.

Homeboyz, Enterprise Cup winners in 2018 play away to Kenya Harlequin at the RFUEA Ground as record winners Nondescript welcome Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology (MMUST) to the Jamhuri Park.

Other fixtures pit Blak Blad against Western Bulls at the Kenyatta University while Stanbic Mwamba are drawn against Kisumu in a fixture slated for the Railway Club.

The Kabras reserves are also defending champions in the Mwamba Cup competition. They will get their round of 16 campaign underway with a home clash against Northern Suburbs as Stanbic Mwamba II host the Daystar Falcons.

Other matches in the Mwamba Cup will see Top Fry Nakuru II play the Catholic Monks with Resolution Impala Saracens II taking on Swara.

Strathmore Leos II are at home to Nondescripts II, Kenya Harlequin II face Shamas Rugby Foundation, Homeboyz II are up against Menengai Oilers II as KCB II play the Administration Police Warriors.

The Enterprise Cup is the oldest and longest running competition in Kenya rugby. First played in 1930, it  is also one of the oldest competitions in Kenyan sport.

The Enterprise Cup was originally an annual fifteens rugby competition played between sides  from Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. It is now a fifteens rugby knock out competition for top Kenyan club sides. The original cup was donated by sailors from the HMS Enterprise who had toured East Africa in 1928.

The only years in which the competition has not been played is between 1940–1946 due to World War II , 1987 because an international rugby competition was held on RFUEA Ground as part of the 4th All Africa Games and the 2011/2012 season.

Previous Winners

1930 Nairobi District
1931 Nairobi North
1932 West Kenya
1933 Eldoret
1934 Eldoret
1935 Eldoret
1936 Eldoret
1937 Nondescript
1938 Nondescript
1939 Eldoret
1940 Suspended due to World War II
1941 Suspended due to World War II
1942 Suspended due to World War II
1943 Suspended due to World War II
1944 Suspended due to World War II
1945 Suspended due to World War II
1946 Suspended due to World War II
1947 Eldoret
1948 Nakuru
1949 Nondescript
1950 Nondescript
1951 Nondescript
1952 Coast Province
1953 West Kenya
1954 Nondescript
1955 Kenya Harlequin
1956 Kampala
1957 Kenya Harlequin
1958 Nakuru RFC
1959 Kenya Police
1960 Nakuru
1961 Impala
1962 Nakuru
1963 Nakuru
1964 Kenya Harlequin
1965 Impala
1966 Nondescript
1967 Kitale
1968 Kampala
1969 Kampala
1970 Kampala
1971 Impala
1972 Impala
1973 Impala
1974 Impala
1975 Nondescript
1976 Nondescript
1977 Nondescript
1978 Nondescript
1979 Nondescript
1980 Nondescript
1981 Nondescript
1982 Nondescript
1983 Nondescript
1984 Nondescript
1985 Mwamba
1986 Mwamba
1987 Suspended due to 4th All African Games
1988 Kenya Harlequin
1989 Nondescript
1990 Nondescript
1991 Nondescript
1992 Nondescript
1993 Nondescript
1994 Nondescript
1995 Kenya Harlequin
1996 Kenya Harlequin /Nondescript  shared the trophy
1997 Mombasa Sports Club
1998 Nondescript
1999 Kenya Harlequin
2000 Impala
2001 Impala
2002 Impala
2003 Impala /Kenya Harlequin shared the trophy
2004 KCB
2005 Impala
2006 Mwamba RFC
2007 KCB
2008 Nakuru
2009 Kenya Harlequin
2010/2011 Kenya Harlequin
2011/2012 Not Played
2012/2013 Mwamba
2013/2014 Nakuru
2014/2015 KCB
2015/2016 KCB
2016/2017 KCB
2017/2018 Homeboyz
2018/2019 Kabras
Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: